Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

My Best of 2013

Posted in art, awareness, family, film, perception, Photo Walk, photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on December 28, 2013

JasonGray16

It is time for my annual “best of the year” post (in no particular order), and what a great year it was!

While 13 is often a number associated with bad luck, 2013 began with a stroke of excellent luck for me- The Riverfront Times awarded this blog with the designation, “Best Arts Blog, 2013“. A true honor, the award brought many new readers to Hours of Idleness, and helped draw some focus back toward my other online project, Photo Flood Saint Louis (which, in January of last year, appeared about to run out of steam). Today, PFSTL is a thriving community of photographers with a broad membership. Another thing that the RFT Award did was motivate me to begin work on an ongoing, multi-segment article outlining the history of photography in St. Louis. My research on the article led me from sifting through the cavernous archives of the Saint Louis Art Museum to exchanging emails with one of my favorite contemporary artists. I was even able to help attribute a work to Ansel Adams (of Wainwright’s Tomb in Bellefontaine Cemetery, that the artist’s foundation was previously unaware of).

JasonGray24

JasonGray22

JasonGray5

As the year wore on, exciting opportunities continued to blossom. In the summer, I was interviewed by HECTV’s, Emmy Award-winning television program, State of the Arts, for my involvement in Photo Flood Saint Louis. Around the same time, PFSTL began a partnership with stl250, which will enable us to provide photographic coverage for the exciting events they have planned for the city’s 250th birthday in 2014. A gallery of PFSTL images is already featured on their website. Fall in St. Louis arrived with the much-anticipated opening of the International Photography Hall of Fame, whose collection spans 30,000 photographs and 6,000 pieces of photographic memorabilia. In Novemeber, I very graciously accepted an invitation to join their Exhibitions Committee, which has jump-started an enthralling new journey for me. We are currently working on an exhibition for 2014 that promises to surpass expectations.

JasonGray6

JasonGray8

JasonGray3

JasonGray11

JasonGray13

JasonGray23

JasonGray12

JasonGray4

JasonGray14

JasonGray18

JasonGray15

Although I am proud of my other accomplishments and opportunities this year, I still consider my greatest achievement to be that I get to be Harper’s dad. 2013 represents the first full year that I am the parent of this amazing child who continues to teach me lessons about what is important in life. My son makes my life beautiful, and I love him deeply. I am grateful for every moment like this:

JasonGray0

JasonGray9

JasonGray10

JasonGray17

JasonGray19

JasonGray7

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ann said, on December 29, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Congratulations on it all!!

  2. Jason Gray said, on December 29, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Thanks Ann!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

