Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

A Stroll Through the Park

Posted in Uncategorized by Jason Gray on June 13, 2009

21

The largest urban park in St. Louis is Forest Park. It is where the World’s Fair was held in 1904, and where the city’s art museum, zoo, municipal opera, and history museum all live, among other things. In terms of scale, it is a bit more than 50% larger than NYC’s Central Park, and a bit less than 75% smaller than LA’s Griffith Park.

18

So, since my job is in the park, I decided to go for a stroll Wednesday after work, take some pictures and share them with you. Here goes:

All Nikon D300, with either the Tokina AT-x 80-200mm f/2.8 (Manual Focus) or the Tokina AT-x 11-16mm f/2.8 DX.

0

1

I don’t know what’s up with all of my bird shots recently…

2

4

5

29

More

And More

Frozen Forest Park

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike said, on August 22, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Your photos are amazing. The last photo of Cass Gilbert is one of the best I have seen.

  2. jasongrayfineartist said, on August 23, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Thanks, Mike! I appreciate that.

  3. […] part of the arrangement agreed to by its organizers was to return the festival’s location, Forest Park, back to its natural state. This meant a speedy disassembly and removal of an enormous amount of […]

  4. Cierria said, on January 3, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    The last one is the best. I went here with my boyfriend,that is why it is so special enough to put it as my desktop picture. When we were there,it was sunny though. The scenery was beautiful,it was hot,I was thirsty. Haha, I even remember picking an orange flower for him. He went”aww”. Sigh,I love him.


Leave a Reply

