Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Homeless in the Windy City

Posted in Uncategorized by Jason Gray on June 13, 2009

Normally, I try not to do exploitative photography; I hate those jerks that have no qualms about sticking their camera in the face of someone less fortunate just for the sake of getting that “gritty” shot. Nonetheless, there is still that side of my photographic being that desires to document what is going on around me, whether I am around the homeless and the hapless, or the lucky and the loaded. I have resolved this internal dichotomy by focusing on my subjects with sensitivity to their existence. In other words, I want to bring the viewer in; this instead of just promoting someone’s circumstances like an advertisement. The following are a few of my shots from wandering around with the homeless and hapless.

All were shot with Nikon N80, Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 or Nikkor 50mm f/1.8, and Fuji Superia 400:

51


3

This person was not homeless, but they were the view from the compound in the last photo:

4

8

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

