Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

A Peek Into My Studio

Posted in art, photography by Jason Gray on July 30, 2009

0

(I had this set up to take shots of some camera gear that I was selling.)

A few weeks ago, J.D. (from Darteboard) posted some shots from his Berkeley studio, and I threatened to do the same, so here they are….I figure that this post has a two-fold asset; 1. it enables potential models to see that I actually do have a space set aside for photography, and 2. it shows potential thieves that there is really nothing worth taking here (unless of course they’re artists or junk collectors).

All shots Nikon D300 with Tokina AT-x Pro 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens attached.

19(Facing West)

20(Facing North)

21(Facing East)

22(Facing Southeast)

23(Facing Southwest)

Some details:

1(In this pic: Trusty Old Polaroid 600, Exotic Rock/Crystal Collection!?, Old Show Fliers)

3(Side of my Antique, Wooden, Drawer Thing)

4(Childhood Comic-Nerd Verdict=Guilty)

5(Wheel to either, a. raise and lower camera on tripod, or b. steer a ship.  You decide.)

6(In this Pic: Nikon EM with 50mm f/1.8E Lens, Polaroid Spectra, Stack of Nat. Geos)

7(In this Pic: This is a husband/wife design team-up, where-in, an unsightly corkboard was wrapped in pretty burlap to create a changeable inspiration board!  I put up pics that I like, not necessarily based on who is in them.  Above that is a Sacred Heart, made and given to me by Santeria Practitioner, Noah of the House of Zubi, as a Valentine’s Day gift.)

10(In this Pic: David Bowie/Eyeball collage that I made when I was in high school, shelf with some of the master edits of my films, and some of my Moleskin Journals.)

12(In this Pic: Mostly frames and stretchers, and crappy, old, stereo system)

13(In this Pic: 1937 Westclox, still works when I remember to wind it, flask, Catholic imagery bracelet, Bavarian pewter wolf-head shot glass, pet rock, and cassette tapes.)

14(In this Pic: a couple of JDs, wolf toy, and a Jesus card.)

15(In this Pic: CD tower with backup discs from all of my hired gigs, photo stuff, and etc.)

16(In this Pic: a Toni Tiller piece, photo albums, and binders with information from my past exhibitions.)

17(Printout of my book.)

18(In this Pic: Rocking Chair, my “roof” slippers, and a mirror.)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Galina Todorova said, on August 2, 2009 at 7:13 am

    I am impressed by your work.
    But the card you describe as Jesus card is depicting St John the Baptist

  2. jasongrayfineartist said, on August 2, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks for that information, Galina. I found that in an alley in Chicago, so I had no idea really who it was supposed to be. Looked like Jesus to me, but I’m glad it’s St. John; I like him better. 😉


Leave a Reply

