Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

St. Louis: Through the Lens

Posted in photography by Jason Gray on August 30, 2009

5My entry into the show: “Dorothy Bergmann”, shot with Nikon D300 and Tokina 11-16mm lens.

I figured that I would post what I was exhibiting for those of you who will not be able to attend the opening. This shot is of my grandmother, whose endearing presence culminates my best memories of living in St. Louis as a child. She taught me how to read, and, since both of my parents worked full-time, I spent most days with her, stealing chocolate from her candy dishes, until I was almost 6 years old. For this photograph, I wanted to capture as much of my grandmother’s personality as possible, so I shot this with a wide lens to include all of her regular environment (if you look closely, you can see the reflection of a graphite portrait that I did of my grandmother when I was about 16) and also to show the space left by my grandfather’s passing, who I unfortunately learned photography too late to capture. My grandfather was my true childhood hero, and he was the true inspiration for me wanting to capture this shot of my grandmother. Old photos of my grandfather and more info on the exhibition after the jump…

grandpa

grandpa2

grandpai

Exhibition Info:

Opening reception on Thursday, September 10, 2009

From 5:30 to 7:30p

At Gallery 210

University of Missouri at St. Louis

44 East Drive

One University Boulevard

St. Louis, Missouri 63121

314-516-5976

The exhibition is intended to promote work by regional photographers and features the city of St. Louis as its subject. The jurors for the competition are Ellen Curlee, Olivia Lahs-Gonzales, and Bob Little.

The exhibition at Gallery 210 will run from September 10, 2009 through December 5, 2009

Leave a Reply

