Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Bakers Project:Design! at STL Fashion Week, part one

Posted in photography by Jason Gray on October 15, 2009

19

Last night, I shot my first round of images for STL Fashion Week, and cumulatively for me, it was ball of stress and anxiety that melted eventually into a puddle of fun (somehow, that sounds more broadly suggestive than I meant it). Anyway, the stress and anxiety was from not understanding where I was supposed to be, at precisely the moment when I was supposed to be there, but I adapted. In my case, this meant wandering around until I found the photographer’s area. Once there, I discovered that several others had beat me to the choicest real estate, so rather than try to shoot through or around them all night, I opted for going over them when I discovered a bunch of chairs hidden behind a faux wall (yes, I stood all night on a chair of questionable construction, but at least I had sight lines). continue–>

0Some of my “competition”.

From that point on everything went pretty smoothly, and I even got a chance to meet with Attilio D’Agostino, who I’ve come to realize is magically a part of a great many of the culture and nightlife offerings (if not organizing them, then writing about or photographing them; he did the Fashion Week promo that I posted earlier this week) in my new hometown. Meeting him erased my suspicion that he was either a collective of elves operating under an Italian-sounding pseudonym, or a robot. Amazingly, he seems like a pretty amicable guy, even for all his flux. The event last evening was called Bakers Project:Design!, and it was essentially a runway competition among the six finalists from an earlier online challenge. It was hosted by Jillian Lewis, of Project Runway fame, and the winner was set to receive $30,000. But, before that could transpire, TLC’s Stacy London and Clinton Kelly, hosts of the television show “What Not To Wear”, took the stage, and surprised a girl in the audience, whose friends and family had nominated her for an attire transformation.

Here are the pics (All Nikon D300 with Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 or Nikon D50 with Nikkor 105mm f/2.8):

11

5 The surprised girl and her family.

7

The surprised crowd and their cameras.

8Stacy visiting with a fan.

10

9Assuming that this guy is the Technical Director.

13

12

Now, on to the runway event:

15Host, Jillian Lewis.

20One of the winning designer’s (Dragana Jovic) pieces.

25Dragana Jovic.

27Dragana Jovic.

29Dragana Jovic.

30Dragana Jovic.

31Spectators and sketch artist.

32Dragana Jovic.

35Dragana Jovic.

37Dragana Jovic.

40Jovic with her models and creations.

Click for part two

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] for part one Tagged with: Bakers Project:Design!, Jason Gray, St. Louis Fashion Week leave a comment […]


Leave a Reply

