Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Best of 2008

Posted in 35mm, art, photography by Jason Gray on December 29, 2009

“Say what, Jason?” you ask.  I reply, “How else better can some of you new readers gauge my 25 best pictures of this year then by comparing them to my 25 best pictures of last year?”  It is interesting (to me) to look at some of the dynamics which led to each set of images.  For one, I did not, and do not, own a car, so living in Chicago made it a lot easier to vary my subject matter due to the sheer ease of mobility that I had.  However, in certain instances, having to repeat some of my subject matter, here in St. Louis, led me to a more intimate understanding of the places that I was often in, which I think came across in the photography.  My style of street-shooting is intuitive by nature, so find ways to react intuitively to situations that I was familiar with improved my discipline a bit, I think.  Also, at the beginning of 2009, I lost my sole income, and struggled all the way until December to get back on my feet.  Despite this, I included more film examples in the 2009 set (9 vs 4), which, to me, meant simply that I was using the medium more effectively (since I developed less).  As I move into medium-format photography in 2010, this more successful behavioral patterning will be of merit use.  Also, 2009 was a big step away from B/W, but I hope to return to doing more of that in 2010, especially with the Yashica-Mat.  These are some of the differences that I see from a personal perspective; feel free to comment about what you all see.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mike said, on December 29, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    What? No Unicorns? Regardless, great photos.

  2. eric johnson said, on January 2, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    hi, really nice blog and ur paintng is really awesome.


Leave a Reply

