Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

A Perfect Day and an Update

Posted in Uncategorized by Jason Gray on January 5, 2010

Today, I had a day off from the museum, and so my wife and I got some things done (and had a little fun, too).  First, we took down our Christmas tree, which resulted in an explosion of pine needles all over our apartment. Seriously, it looked like we installed a pine-green, shag rug. We took our dead, holiday companion down to the recycling center at Carondelet Park (Grand/Holly Hills). Happily, it appears that a lot of St. Louisans are taking their trees there. From there, we took a detour, from our day of errands, to go over to the Record Exchange on Hampton. I’ve been dying to go there ever since I got my Numark Turntable for Christmas (little known fact for my readers, I actually used to work at the Record Exchange, back in 2003). I’ve been all over the country, visiting and searching record stores, and believe me, very, very few can compare with the size and selection of this hometown record shop. Today, I bought excellent copies of Esther Phillips’ “Performance”, Kate Bush’s “The Dreaming”, Oingo Boingo’s “Nothing to Lose”, and George Clinton’s “R&B Skeletons In The Closet”. Videos and more after the jump.

From the Esther Phillip album:

From the Kate Bush album:

From the Oingo Boingo album:

From the George Clinton album:

After the Record Exchange, we drove over to St. Louis Community College at Forest Park (after a stop for coffee at Shaw’s on the Hill), so that I could sign up for spring classes; I’m finally going to finish up at least an Associate’s Degree… Later on, we did some grocery shopping, used up a Border’s gift card that we got as a Christmas gift (I bought Hubert Selby Jr.’s “The Demon”), and then returned home, where I worked on editing some of the pictures that I shot for a wedding recently. Actually, that is the reason why I’ve been a bit scarce around here as of late; the wedding pictures and other things have kept me extremely busy.

However (and here’s the update), I will be posting some more stuff, soon. I have plans to add some new art essays, photos, an interview and more, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

