Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Land of Lincoln

Posted in photography by Jason Gray on February 9, 2010

My wife and I spent Monday and Tuesday in Springfield, Illinois with my mother-in-law. I always enjoy visiting with Rosemary, and I generally get to snap some interesting pictures while running around town with her and Mandi. On this occasion, I shot inside of a K-Mart and the mall (pictures after the jump). It is amazing to me to see how much the dynamic of mall-shopping has changed since when I was a kid; the Springfield one didn’t have much variety and there weren’t many people there…. Anyway, the big shopping highlight of my trip was discovering a used record store downtown. Recycled Records, Inc. has more than 40,000 LP’s for sale in a space that can best be described as “original to the 19th Century”. However, that just led to its charm for me, and I will surely be back again and again. On this occasion, I scored Simple Minds’ “Life In A Day”, Nina Hagen’s “Angstlos” and “Nunsexmonkrock”, and Public Image Ltd.’s “This Is What You Want…”.

All Nikon D300 with the spectacular 20-year-old, Nikon 50mm f/1.8E Lens.

In K-Mart:

The mall:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] MORE! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Children of the Corn and a New Approach to Fast Food… Tagged with: Illinois, Jason Gray, Springfield […]

  2. […] Additional images: 1. Land of Lincoln […]


Leave a Reply

