Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

As February Fades…

Posted in photography by Jason Gray on February 28, 2010

Nikon D50 with Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G lens.

I figured that I would update everyone on my goings on. First, the “Identity Project”, as I have been referring to it, is almost complete; I only have one more shoot left and it is done, and I can begin pitching it to galleries. I am ecstatic about that. It has been a very hard project to see through, and I wish to thank everyone who has participated and assisted me in realizing it. The final exhibition won’t let you down; I promise. Second, I have converted my MySpace page into a sort of Hours of Idleness satellite site. It is still a work in progress, but I want to utilize the assets of that network to the advantage of this one. Expect catalogued pictures of your favorite STL locations, reposts of posts from here, event updates and more. Follow the link to the right of the page and friend request me. I am considering doing a Facebook page likewise, but I really hate the format of that network, and I really really don’t want to be on it…just log-on to your MySpace page and I won’t have to. Third, I am doing a lot of editing right now, so don’t take it personal, friends, if I am late in returning your calls (yes Curt, I do have many more images from our KISS shoot, and I will happily give them to you; it just might be a second because I am so backed up). Relatedly, I just started a gym membership with YMCA, so trying to get my fat ass in shape has unfortunately exacerbated my slow editing process. Anyway, I hope everyone is well!!!

Nikon D300 with Nikon 50mm f/1.8E lens.

Above photo is from the Healthy Planet, Natural Living Expo at the rec center in Webster Groves, which my wife and I went to this morning.  The expo includes over 70 vendors, both local and national, whose focus is upon assisting people to achieve a life more in balance with their surroundings.  The vendors distributed everything from free massages, to free-range, organic meats, to all natural pet food, to regional wine, to green living info packets, and more, while the event was endorsed by Healthy Planet Magazine, Whole Foods, Schnucks, Schlafly, and Sappington Farmers’ Market, among others.  It was a good time, and Mandi and I left with a big score of loot in the reusable bags made from recycled plastic bottles that were handed to us at the front door.

Nikon D50 with Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G lens.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. curty13 said, on February 28, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    very cool photo man. look forward to it, and very glad to hear about the identity project being wrapped up! wtg.


Leave a Reply

