Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Nikon N6006 and N8008s- Prettiest Couple at the Party

Posted in 35mm, photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on March 15, 2010

Like sipping cappucinos, wearing plaid shirts over thermal ones, watching “Beavis and Butthead”, and listening to grunge bands from Seattle, the Nikon N6006 and N8008s are as quintessentially 90’s as anything.  These are the cameras that made we want to be a photographer, and I think that they are among the best looking cameras ever made.  Back when I was 14, I sure wanted one, realllly baaad.  In fact, my best-friend’s dad owned the F4, but he told me how great the N6006 would be as a starter camera.  I used to read his issues of Outdoor Photographer (he was an amateur wildlife photographer) when he was done with them, and drool over the Nikon ads inside.  I originally learned the jargon of photography by studying his old books, but it wasn’t going to be until long after that that I could afford my first camera (and it wasn’t one of these).  However, I maintained my fanboy lust for these cameras and finally found them used in 2008.  I love these cameras, because of how they look, how they sound, and how they shoot!  Comparisons of both cameras after the jump.

N6006 FRONT.

N8008s FRONT.

N6006 BACK.

N8008s BACK.

N6006 RIGHT SIDE.

N8008s RIGHT SIDE.

N6006 LEFT SIDE.

N8008s LEFT SIDE

Nikon N6006 vs. Nikon N8008s:

1. Matrix, Center-Weighted and Spot Metering vs. same

2. Exposure Compensation +/-5 EV stops in 1/3 stop increments vs. same

3. Max. shutter speed of 1/2000th of a second vs. 1/8000th

4. Viewfinder with 92% frame coverage vs. same.

5. Auto DX-coding recognition for applicable films or manual ISO vs. same.

6. 1.2 maximum frames per second vs. 3.3 fps

7. No vs. Yes for Depth of Field Preview Button

8. Built-in flash vs. no. (unlike some photographers, I do find uses for my built in flash on occasion, and therefore, I find it inconvenient when my camera doesn’t come with one.)

9. Maximum flash synchronization 1/125 vs. 1/250. (1/125 isn’t quite fast enough for all applications.  When I shoot events, like runway fashion shows, I set my cameras shutter at 1/250 and mostly just leave it there.  This is because 1/250th of a second stops or “freezes” all human locomotion, while 1/125th of a second doesn’t.  Granted, 1/125 would probably give me few misses in the context of a runway show.)

10. One DR 223A battery vs. four AA batteries. (I like the AA feature because those batteries are available everywhere, can come as rechargeables, and have a very good tolerance of temperature extremes.)

N6006 FLASH.

N8008s TOP.

N8008s TOP.

I doubt they make this strap anymore, but this is an old Tamrac one with a leather shoulder pad, and it is the best strap that I own, bar none.  I love it!

Well these cameras might not be showing up a lot on set anymore, but I think that they still can get the job done (despite 1st generation AF technology).  I also think that they are the prettiest pair of cameras that I own, and I love taking them out shooting every chance that I get.

All shots, Nikon D300 with Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G lens.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Nikon N6006 and N8008s- Prettiest Couple at the Party « Hours of Idleness-A Photographer'… […]

  2. adan torres said, on May 19, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    oye me podrias facilitar el manual de la nikon n8008s
    lo necesito por favor
    saludos
    gracias

  3. adan torres said, on May 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    lo he estado buscando sin resultados
    si lo tienes en español estaria genial
    mi e-meil es gorillaz@hotmail.com
    gracias

  4. jasongrayfineartist said, on May 19, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Courtesy of Google Translate:
    Lo siento mi amigo, no tiene el manual de estas cámaras. Sin embargo, este enlace (http://www.butkus.org/chinon/nikon/nikon_n8008af/nikon_n8008af.htm) va a una versión descargable Inglés que creo que puede ser traducido al español. ¡Buena suerte!

  5. dualdflipflop said, on February 13, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    The N6006 was my first camera too! It also was the camera that made me want to become professional. I was also about 14 when I got mine. I still have both my dad’s N8008 and my N6006. Thanks for this post. It’s great to see someone else shares the same experience.

  6. […] Nikon N6006 and N8008s […]


Leave a Reply

