Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G DX Lens

Posted in photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on April 29, 2010

This is an exceptional lens, and if you are a wedding or event photographer using a DX camera, then you should own it! No, it does not have VR, but that is not necessarily a detriment at this focal-length. Considering that this lens will be most useful at wide apertures with fast shutter speeds on moving targets, and that it excels in that performance bracket, VR wouldn’t be being used that often anyway. Especially since, for the posed shots, you will probably be switching lenses to more of a portrait focal-length anyway (or mounting it to a tripod for group shots). Nonetheless, this lens is capable of getting just about any shot, within its focal range. It is expensive, but it is also worth it!

For my needs, especially art related, I generally shoot this lens at about the 24mm focal length (I just like that angle of view on DX). If the newer, Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G lens had been out when I purchased this zoom, and if I would have known how often I would be shooting at 24mm, I probably would have gone in that direction. However, this lens has provided me with lots of versatility, especially when shooting things like backstage at St. Louis Fashion Week. There really aren’t any overwhelming flaws with this lens (as there shouldn’t be at this price-point); its construction is top-notch, it is heavy but balances well, optically, it is fantastic, and it even has a wonderfully creamy out-of-focus area. Maybe the only downside is that it is impossible not to see you coming when you’ve got this sucker attached to the end of your camera body!

All pics Nikon D300 with Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G lens.

More pics and stats after the jump–>

At 17mm:

At 35mm:

At 55mm:

With hood attached:

Full name: Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S DX Nikkor
Max/Min. Aperture: 2.8/22
Diaphragm Blades: 7 Rounded
Lens Configuration: 14 Elements in 10 Groups, with 3ED and 3 Aspherical elements
Filter Size: 77mm
Magnification Ratio: 1:5
Focuses Beyond: 14″

From the side:

Pics done with this lens:

And here’s a little something from someone who knows a bit more about product photography than I do:

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] it terms of my gear, which forced me to make some creative decisions. Instead of bringing my 17-55 and 80-200, I took my Nikon 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8D, 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6G, and Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8. […]

  2. […] Reviews Nikon D300 Nikon D50 Nikon N80 Nikon N65 Nikon N6006 and N8008s Nikon EM Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G Lens Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X Pro Lens Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G Lens Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D Lens Nikkor […]

  3. […] Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G DX […]

  4. […] decided to switch over from zooms indefinitely.  Shortly thereafter, I sold my old workhorse, the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G, and haven’t looked back.  Thanks again, […]

  5. […] this Flood, I carried my Nikon D300 and Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G lens.  What put this Flood in my top five was the portrait that I took of the worker below.  He […]

  6. […] splendid job, despite the almost ten year old sensor technology.  For lenses, I brought along the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G, and I believe this was my last Flood using that before I sold it for more […]

  7. […] has always been my go to for general purpose (this was pretty much where my zoom remained on my old Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G), though with my current series focusing on St. Louis’ urban landscapes has ensured that the […]

  8. […] Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G DX […]


Leave a comment