Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Nikkor 35-135mm f/3.5-4.5 AF Lens

Posted in 35mm, photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on May 9, 2010

The Nikkor 35-135 f/3.5-4.5 AF is a push/pull lens with very decent performance. Before I begin, it is worthwhile to note that this lens is the DX equivalent of a 55-200mm zoom, so it is up to you whether you would prefer the actual lower f-stop on this lens or the equivalent offered through VR technology in the newer 55-200 DX. I’ve read great things said about Nikon’s 55-200, and it goes without saying that this older model takes some great pictures. If I were making the decision today, I don’t know which one I’d choose; generally, I prefer an actual lower f/stop to just VR though (especially at the telephoto end). I am positive, though, that the older lens is heavier and larger than the newer one, but it also contains more metal components as well.

Anyway, this lens works for me mostly in the context of what I shoot on film. It is the lens that lives on my 8008s and frequently finds itself on the 6006, also. This lens was a steal when I bought it used, and it still is. If you decide to go this route, don’t look back. However, if you own one of the lower-end Nikons (D40, D60, D3000, D5000, etc.), this lens will not auto-focus. The push/pull feature took some getting used to, but I got the hang of it eventually, and I actually kind of prefer it.

Note: There is a “D” version of this lens, which offers slightly better metering because of “distance” information supplied to the metering equation.

All pics with Nikon D300 and Tokina 80-200mm f/2.8 AT-x PRO lens.

More pics and stats after the jump–>

Top View at 35mm:

Top View at 70mm:

Top View at 135mm:

Full Name: Nikon 35-135mm f/3.5-4.5 AF Nikkor
Max/Min. Aperture: 3.5/32
Diaphragm Blades: 7
Lens Configuration: 15 Elements in 12 Groups
Filter Size: 62mm
Magnification Ratio:
Focuses Beyond: 5′ (1′ on Macro Setting)

3/4 view of Macro button:

I rarely use the “macro” feature on this lens. It just doesn’t work as well as my 105mm f/2.8.

3/4 view of Aperture Ring and switch:

Photos that I took with this lens:

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] the lenses that are most typically on my cameras when I am out and about are: for older film, the Nikkor 35-135mm or the Nikkor 50mm; for newer film and digital, the Nikkor 50mm or the lens in this article. I am […]

  2. rob said, on June 20, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    You mention that the Nikkor35-135mm is roughly the same as a 55-200mm DX lens. Actually it is the approximate equivalent of a 24-90mm DX lens.

  3. jasongrayfineartist said, on June 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Ha. 🙂 Rob, I think you misunderstood what I wrote; I said that the 35-135mm is “the DX equivalent of a 55-200mm lens” (I could add to that, “on a 35mm/equivalent body”; to make it more clear). What you are saying is that, to get an equal focal length to a 35-135mm lens, on a DX body, you would need to use a 24-90mm lens, which is true. However, my statement was that using the 35-135mm lens on a DX body gives you a view similar to a 55-200mm lens on a 35mm/equivalent. This is all, of course, slightly untrue because of how perspective is different between a real 55-200mm zoom on an FX body and a 35-135mm on a DX. Hope that helps to clear things a bit.

  4. […] Sigma, and very comparable, build-wise, to Nikon’s late ’80′s AF lenses (see this). My bet is that this lens was originally purchased between […]

  5. cheloquevedo said, on May 19, 2014 at 4:44 pm

    This lense works well on a Nikon D90? what would be the focal lenght range?

  6. Jason Gray said, on May 20, 2014 at 8:47 am

    Thanks for reading! The focal length equivalent range on a Nikon D90 for this lens is basically 50mm-200mm.

    Hope you enjoy using it!

  7. […] Nikkor 35-135mm f/3.5-4.5 AF (non-D) […]


Leave a Reply

