Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Tokina 80-200mm f/2.8 AT-x PRO Lens

Posted in photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on May 11, 2010

Easily the best value I have ever stumbled across (I found mine used for $15!!; more likely they are from $150-300 used), this Tokina is some serious glass! Like I said before, I rarely shoot at focal lengths over my Nikkor 105mm f/2.8, but when I do, this is the lens that I reach for. It is a solid metal construction that just works (the guys behind Tokina are Nikon runaways). If you don’t need the AF/VR of the more expensive, newer lenses, you’d be foolish to pass this one up for any other reason.

All pics Nikon D300 with Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G lens.

More shots and stats after the jump–>

Note: Everything moves internally; the barrel does not change shape to accommodate any position.

Top View with Hood at 200mm:

Top View with Hood at 80mm:

Full Name: Tokina AT-X MF PRO 80-200mm f/2.8
Max/Min. Aperture: 2.8/32
Diaphragm Blades: 7
Lens Configuration:
Filter Size: 77mm
Magnification Ratio:
Focuses Beyond: 6′

Tripod Foot:

Fun line thingys:

Shots I took with this Lens:

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] terms of my gear, which forced me to make some creative decisions. Instead of bringing my 17-55 and 80-200, I took my Nikon 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8D, 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6G, and Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8. The 105mm […]

  2. […] Gear Reviews Nikon D300 Nikon D50 Nikon N80 Nikon N65 Nikon N6006 and N8008s Nikon EM Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G Lens Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X Pro Lens Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G Lens Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D Lens Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G Lens Nikkor 35-135mm f/3.5-4.5 AF Lens Nikon 50mm f/1.8E Lens Nikkor 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6G Lens Tokina 80-200 f/2.8 AT-x PRO Lens […]

  3. S McGarvey said, on March 18, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Hi I just bought the
    Tokina AT-X AF 80-200mm f/2.8
    but I cant get it to auto focus with my D50. The guy who sold it it said he was getting it to work beautifully with his D70.

    Can you help me figure out how to get auto focus working with the D50???

  4. jasongrayfineartist said, on March 18, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Hi, thanks for reading my blog. There are a couple of simple troubleshoots for seeing what is wrong. If these do not work, let me know, and I will suggest troubleshooting more complex issues at that point.

    First, you probably know this already but it bares mentioning, make sure that the small tab just below the lens release button on your camera is set to “AF”. This tab is easy to knock into the manual focus position accidently (all Nikons, with the exception of the D7000, have this problem). If the tab is already in “AF”, then you are going to try the “Focus Clutch Mechanism” (a Tokina thing). The “Focus Clutch Mechanism” works by moving the focus ring into a position either forwards or backwards along the lens barrel. I believe that when it is in the forward position, auto-focus is engaged.

    If neither of these work, let me know.

  5. Steve McGarvey said, on March 28, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Hi Thanks for your reply.
    I have checked the af tab and it is on AF. I tried the “Focus Clutch Mechanism”
    but the focus ring is very stiff when in AF presumabely because its not meant to be
    moved manually when in focus.

    Just to check, in your images you have a D50 with the tokina. Did this work in AF?
    I took the lens to Jessops yesterday and tried with a D90 and worked fine. The guy told me this is because the d90 + d70 have on board motors in the body but the d50 doesnt so it wont auto focus.

    Any ideas?

    Good blog by the way.

    Steve

  6. Steve McGarvey said, on March 29, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Hi Jason

    thanks for the advice. I made sure the tab was in autofocus but still no joy there.
    Tried the “Focus Clutch Mechanism” idea but the focusing ring wouldnt move presumably
    because it only moves when in manual.
    I took it to the camera shop and they told me the d50 wont make it focus automatically
    because it doesnt have an onboard motor. The d70,80,90 do have onboard motors and it worked fine with the d90 on a test.

    Did you somehow get around this issue?

    Thanks

    Steve

  7. smcgarvey said, on March 31, 2011 at 6:26 am

    Still no joy. Did yours work on auto focus on d50? Maybe its the fact it needs a motor like the d70?

  8. jasongrayfineartist said, on April 1, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Hi Steve,

    I am happy that you enjoy the site. Sorry for my delay in replying.

    In any case, “the guy at Jessops” is incorrect, the D50 does have an internal motor (just like the D7/8/90) and will drive autofocus on any AF lens manufactured for Nikon SLRs. However, you are correct in that, when the Focus Clutch Mechanism is set to AF, the focus ring is not meant to be turned manually, so it is stiffer feeling if you force it to do so, or on the newer Tokinas, it simply doesn’t do anything when you turn it (don’t do this, by the way; if you want to manually focus, pull the focus ring into the MF position first).

    That said, (to simplify) your problem is one of two things; it is the result of an issue with either your camera’s autofocus system or your lens’. If you have another AF lens, attach it to your D50 and see if it focuses, if it does, then the problem is with your lens, if it doesn’t than the problem is with your camera. Why the lens would be focusing on a D90 and not a D50 is unclear since there is no difference (the D90 has a slightly stronger motor, so maybe yours in the D50 is just going out; unlikely though). My suggestion is to contact either Tokina or Nikon (wherever you isolate the problem using the test I suggested above), and send the problem gear in.

    As for me, the lens that I own (pictured above) is a manual focus only lens. It does not have auto-focus, and is simply an earlier iteration of the own that you own (minus AF).

    Hope this helps.

    Best, Jason

  9. smcgarvey said, on April 2, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Thats big help Jason.

    Many thanks for all your advice.
    My autofocus works fine with all the other lenses I have.
    I am going to test it on my friends D60 and D200 tomorrow
    so we’ll soon see if it works.

    Thanks again,

    Steve

  10. jasongrayfineartist said, on April 2, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    No problem Steve.

    Good luck. Test it on the D200 and not the D60 though! 😉

    Best,
    Jason

  11. Scott said, on March 9, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Just got a manual focus AT-X 80-200mm 2.8, but it does not “talk” to my D80, D70 or Fuji S2 Pro (which the guy at Adorama said it would.) Therefore, I have to set all the exposure controls manually with terrible results (yes, I’m educated in manual settings.) Can you clarify that this lens is supposed to communicate with modern slrs? Am I missing a switch or button somewhere? Help! Thanks.

  12. Jason Gray said, on March 9, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Hi Scott,

    Thanks for reading. Unfortunately, the Adorama guy is dead wrong, and if Adorama sold you the lens while making such a claim, then I would suggest returning it. Fact is, the D70, D80, and Fuji S2 all do not have the “non-cpu lens” setting which would otherwise allow you to meter with this lens. Of course, it is only metering which is affected, so if you shoot fully manually and use a light meter, then you’ll have no worries.

    Sorry for your woes. If you can find the right circumstances for that lens it is a real gem though.

    Best,
    Jason

  13. Jason Gray said, on March 9, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    To clarify:

    The lens in my review is a manual focus lens. The lens mentioned by commenter, Steve, is an auto-focus lens, which is an update to the lens mentioned in my review. The auto-focus lens is compatible with the Nikon D50, D70, D70s, D80, D90, D7000, D100, D200, D300, and up while the manual focus lens (from my review) is only compatible with bodies that offer the “non-cpu lens” feature (D200, D300, D300s, D700, D800, D800e and up). Hope this helps.

  14. […] Tokina 80-200mm f/2.8 AT-X Pro (manual focus) […]

  15. […] the coldest Photo Floods we have experienced.  For my outing, I brought with me the Nikon D300 and Tokina 80-200mm AT-X Pro, manual focus lens.  To anyone familiar with my style of shooting, you should immediately […]


Leave a Reply

