Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

KDHX’s Midwest Mayhem 2010

Posted in photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on May 15, 2010


Dear Vincent bandmember.

Well the pics are in! Soon, I will be sending them off for KDHX’s use, but here is a sneak peak at a handful of the shots I took at this City Museum-hosted event. If you weren’t there, you really missed out; Mayhem was absolute mayhem, and a ton of fun! Everywhere you turned something interesting was happening, and on the rare lull in activity, there was always climbing and exploring to be done.

I decided to take a bit of an unconventional set-up, it terms of my gear, which forced me to make some creative decisions. Instead of bringing my 17-55 and 80-200, I took my Nikon 105mm f/2.8G, 50mm 1.8D, 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6G, and Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8. The 105mm ended up being the best choice for the circumstances, followed by the 50mm. I expected a use for the 11-16mm that didn’t pan out, so it was the least used, and the 28-80mm required flash which I wasn’t always keen on using, given the result that I was looking for… It terms of flash, I brought 1 sb-600 and 1 sb-400 along. On the sb-600, I mounted a honeycomb diffuser that ended up pairing really well with the 105mm in the cavernous City Museum.

More pics after the jump–>


Dear Vincent lead singer.


Hula-Hoop twirler.


Miss Jubilee of Miss Jubilee and the Humdingers.


A Humdinger

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I’m a bit late on my friday post, sorry about that. I wanted to get some of my pics from Thursday night’s Midwest Mayhem ready to show. Check more of them out here. […]


Leave a Reply

