Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Work In Progress

Posted in art, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on May 28, 2010

Oil on Canvas, 30″ x 40″.

It has been a long, looong time since I’ve really sat down and painted with oils. Yesterday, I had quite a few hours to myself, so I decided to do just that. I have a few old pieces, that I was never happy with and that I have been contemplating painting over. In this case, I went about merely reworking the original (and I do have plans to come back and finish it before another year slips off into the abyss). Original after the jump–>

Original from 2004.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. curty13 said, on May 28, 2010 at 11:06 am

    i totally identify with painting over old paintings. usually i don’t revamp them into a new vers of the old, but do a completely new painting on top of the old one. i like both of these! i actually bought some canvases though so i am doing fresh works for once. keep painting!

  2. jasongrayfineartist said, on May 29, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I haven’t cannibalized old work very often, but I had been thinking about what I wanted this piece to be. It is kind of exhilarating to destroy something that you’ve had for a long while! We should get together soon; I’d love to see what you have been working on.

  3. Howie Husain said, on May 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    i totally identify with painting over old paintings. usually i don’t revamp them into a new vers of the old, but do a completely new painting on top of the old one. i like both of these! i actually bought some canvases though so i am doing fresh works for once. keep painting!
    +1


Leave a Reply

