Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Through the Looking Glass

Posted in photography, technique by Jason Gray on June 26, 2010

This is a technique I developed by shooting through a wet, pane of glass (such as a windshield) using a lens switched to manual focus, and adjusting it so that the image is slightly out of focus. The effect is reminiscent of Impressionism, and really, by waiting for it to storm and shooting through the windshield of a car, I was sort of pursuing the same thing as the early Impressionists (Turner, etc.). Ultimately though, what I am doing is finding creative ways to distort my composition, and this can be achieved in a plethora of ways. I keep a cheap, highly inefficient magnifying glass that I bought at the dollar store on hand for exactly this purpose. By holding it at the right distance from the front element of the lens, I can get a delicious underwater effect. Have fun!

Link to a post showing many of my experiments.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 2. Through the Looking Glass […]


Leave a Reply

