Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Illinois Backroads

Posted in art, awareness, black and white, photography, Uncategorized by Jason Gray on September 4, 2011

Heading down the backroads of Illinois can sometimes feel like time-travel. In these places, the paved roads turn over to gravel or to dirt, and the hulking masses of silos and other farm structures arise from the endless rows of corn.

I found the two buildings featured here, both abandoned, down a long, narrow, gravel road marked, “Road Closed”. My best guess is that one of them was used as a stable while the other was a slaughterhouse. Luckily for me, the door to the slaughterhouse was not locked, and so I clambered inside to do some exploring. Enjoy.

All Nikon D300 with Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G lens.


Check out more pics from this outing here.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. homeschoolinghelicoptermama said, on September 4, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I love your pictures! I stumbled upon them and thought they were really cool. I wish my photographs could turn out that well! 🙂

  2. Jason Gray said, on September 4, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I really appreciate you checking everything out.

    I think that your photos of your kids are great, and I think that it is wonderful that you are homeschooling.

    Thanks again,
    Jason

  3. More Lonely Buildings « d’Arte Board said, on September 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    […] out more pics from this trip here. Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  4. […] 4. Illinois Backroads […]


Leave a Reply

