Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Lindsey Davidson, Part 1

Posted in art, black and white, model, photography by Jason Gray on November 13, 2011

Recently, I had the opportunity to photograph my friend and fellow photographer, Lindsey Davidson. Lindsey is an aspiring photojournalist, and works primarily in 35mm, black and white (what I shot the part 2 to this post with ~coming soon~). I had a great time working with Miss Davidson, and I appreciate the fact that she really went for it in these images, despite offering that, like me, she is more comfortable behind the camera than in front of it (Lindsey, I don’t think that anyone can tell).

All Nikon D300 with either Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G, Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G, or Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D lens.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. andrewplacephotography said, on November 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Lovely work, I adore the first shot, well done. I shall follow your work with interest

  2. Jason Gray said, on November 13, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Thanks Andrew! I enjoy your work also.

    Digging through your blog as I type…

  3. Lindsey davidson said, on November 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    The 3rd is my fav. I had a lot of fun with this it was a fun experience, can’t wait to work with you again and see the rest of the shots.

  4. Jacob Lucas said, on November 13, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Wow, very impressed with BOTH of you. Terrific pictures Jason, your use of light (especially in the stairwell, always a hard spot to shoot for me) is amazing.

    Lindsay, so beautiful! Natural model. You need to be in front of the camera just as much as you are behind it.

  5. lindsey davidson said, on November 13, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    ha thanks jake, i agree Jason did a fantastic job! i just wish my eyes didn’t blink so much when the flash went off!

  6. Jason Gray said, on November 13, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Excellent! We will definitely shoot some more.

  7. Jason Gray said, on November 13, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Thanks, Jake. Gotta love Nikon’s CLS.

    I agree; I think that Lindsey makes a swell model.

  8. Jason Gray said, on November 13, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Thanks, Lindsey.

    Yeah, the blinking issue can be a bit tough, but there are workarounds (and it’s not like you can help it). Now that I know that about you, next time will go a bit easier. So don’t sweat it!

  9. […] Davidson and I have had the opportunity to work with each other on several occasions (1, 2), and I would say that her transition into modeling is now fairly well complete. It is always […]


Leave a Reply

