Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

A Sometimes Lonely City, part I

Posted in art, Photo Walk, photography, technique, winter by Jason Gray on March 13, 2013

2

Ellendale, 2013.

When I go roaming around in my “street photographer” clothes, I’ve noticed that I have a tendency to take a certain kind of picture. For whatever the reason, I gravitate toward images that are a little lonely and quiet (thanks Mr. Badger, for the term). Although you could argue that St. Louis is a bit this way, I tend to find this quality no matter the place.

Naturally, over time I’ve begun to build a portfolio of these images, which I’ve feigned sharing with all of you because many of them already appear on the website for my organization, Photo Flood Saint Louis (you’re subscribed there already, right?). Well, today I’ve decided to let the flood gates open. Enjoy this first round of an ongoing project-post, and please let me know what you think in the comments below.

10

Old North St. Louis, 2013.

26

Downtown, 2012.

15

The Patch, 2012.

22

KDHX, 2012.

3

Ellendale, 2013.

12

Forest Park, 2012.

25

Downtown, 2012.

0

Ellendale, 2013.

6

Old North St. Louis, 2013.

–> Part II
–> Part III

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Miranda said, on March 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    I moved to St. Louis, from DC, six months ago and have been struck by the abandon/lonely feel of the city. (Perhaps winter also factors into that undertone.) It is a unique feeling, one that you’ve certainly captured well in these images.

  2. Jason Gray said, on March 13, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Hi Miranda,

    Welcome to the area, and thanks for reading. Definitely, STL has a welcoming side too, and you’ll see that when things warm up and the plants bloom. It’s really a very charming city. Given your background in DC, you might be interested to know that there was even a movement, before the Civil War, to make STL the Nation’s capital.

    If you are interested in more city pics, check out photofloodstl.com and stlouispatina.com (written by a friend).

    Best,
    Jason

  3. […] of my ongoing posts dedicated to the sublime beauty of the city of St. Louis. Part one is available here. All of the photos contained in both posts come from those that I have photographed on excursions […]

  4. […] post continues my “quiet” venture into the St. Louis cityscape. See part I and part II for […]


Leave a Reply

