Hours of Idleness-A Photographer's Journey in St. Louis

Interlude: PFSTL Top Ten, #4. The Hill

jason_gray - 1 (12).jpg

Photo Flood Saint Louis turns four this August.  This post is a continuation of a countdown to commemorate this exciting milestone.

There are many things that draw visitors to the city of St. Louis, baseball, Forest Park, The Arch, but probably, the neighborhood most popular with out-of-towners (for what it uniquely offers as a neighborhood) is The Hill.

jason_gray - 1 (1).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (3)

jason_gray - 1 (2).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (9).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (4).jpg

Take a quick stroll through the dining and shopping district there, and it is so easy to see why.  The Italian community is tight-knit here, big enough, and has born so many notables that similar ethnic enclaves in larger cities, like Chicago, pale by comparison.  The Hill is extremely family-friendly too, which is another reason why the area is so popular with people visiting from afar, who perhaps have had their perception of the city shaped by unfair statistics.

jason_gray - 1 (5).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (6).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (7).jpg

jason_gray - 1

jason_gray - 1 (8)

That said, you might take note of the absence of quaint bakeries, eateries and shops from this portrait of The Hill.  That is for good reason.  On most Photo Floods, I usually try to plan my route through the neighborhood by considering where I think everyone else will go.  This helps me to ensure that we are getting a more well-rounded glimpse at the neighborhood, especially very popular ones, and often sends me on a journey off the beaten path.

For this Flood, I carried my Nikon D300 and Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G lens.  What put this Flood in my top five was the portrait that I took of the worker below.  He had just finished grouting the brickwork behind him, and turned around to face the setting sun at the moment I was walking past.  I made a gesture with my camera toward him, and he nodded.  I snapped the single photo, and walked on.  This 5 second interaction was my first street portrait taken with Photo Flood Saint Louis, and it is still one of my favorites.

jason_gray - 1 (13).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (10).jpg

jason_gray - 1 (11).jpg

If you are interested in becoming a member, head on over to photofloodstl.org, or visit our page on Facebook and let us know!  As always, it is free to join and free to participate.

Leave a Reply

